Shubman Gill

BCCI Reveals India’s Squad for 2023 ODI World Cup

September 6, 2023 9:25 pm

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially unveiled the 15-member squad that will represent India in the highly anticipated 2023 ODI World Cup. The much-awaited tournament is set to kick off on October 5, with a clash between defending champions England and New Zealand at Ahmedabad’s iconic Narendra Modi Stadium.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had set a deadline of September 5 for all participating teams to finalize and submit their squads for the prestigious event. In response, the All India Senior Men’s Selection Committee has announced the squad that will carry India’s hopes in the World Cup. Follow your favorite cricket team with attractive betting odds from Nextbet. 

Rohit Sharma, a seasoned campaigner in the cricketing world, will continue to lead the Indian team. Hardik Pandya has been appointed as his deputy, adding depth and experience to the squad. Notably, the World Cup lineup closely mirrors the roster of players currently representing India in the ongoing Asia Cup 2023.

The return of key players like Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer, who have recovered from their injuries, bolsters India’s World Cup prospects. The selection committee has also placed its trust in the seasoned bowling duo of Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami, acknowledging their recent impressive performances.

However, wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson, who served as the traveling reserve during the Asia Cup, did not secure a spot in the 15-member squad for the World Cup.

India’s quest for a historic World Cup victory will commence on October 8, as they face five-time champions Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Notably, the highly anticipated India-Pakistan clash has been scheduled for October 14 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, a fixture that promises to be a spectacle for cricket fans worldwide.

India’s 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023:

– Rohit Sharma (Captain)

– Shubman Gill

– Virat Kohli

– KL Rahul

– Shreyas Iyer

– Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper)

– Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain)

– Ravindra Jadeja

– Suryakumar Yadav

– Shardul Thakur

– Axar Patel

– Jasprit Bumrah

– Mohammed Shami

– Mohammed Siraj

– Kuldeep Yadav

As the cricketing world gears up for the World Cup, Indian fans eagerly anticipate their team’s performance and hope for a victorious campaign in the quest for cricket’s ultimate glory. Get free cricket betting tips from Nextbet Sports.